The Encyclopaedia of Plymouth History

Click here to return to the Home page      Click here for more information about this website       Click here to go to the A - Z Contents page       Click here to go to the Links page       Click here to go to the Disclaimer page       Click here to link to the Can you help? page


Updated:  09 September 2011 

A seaplane base was established at the Cattewater, to the east of Plymouth, in September 1913 and several trial flights were made from it.  [1]

Plans to create a Royal Naval Air Service station on the Cattewater were made in 1916 and in February 1917 RNAS Cattewater was commissioned.  Two hangers were erected and a railway track was laid along the length of the Mount Batten Breakwater to enable a mobile steam crane to move about lifting seaplanes into and out of the water.  [1]


The first aircraft to be stationed there were fourteen Short Brothers 184, of which numbers N1142, N1601, N1624, N1796, N2836, and N2959 were recorded by Dennis Teague, and a Curtiss H8 "Large America" flying boat.  [1]

On April 1st 1918 the Royal Naval Air Service was merged with the Royal Flying Corps to become the Royal Air Force and the Station was re-commissioned as Royal Air Force Cattewater.  [1]

SEE ALSO Royal Naval Air Service Laira.


[1]  "Teague, Dennis, "Aviation in South West Britain 1909-1979", Baron Jay Ltd, Plymouth, 1982, ISBN 0-904593-11-8.

  Brian Moseley, Plymouth, UK

Any problems viewing this webpage should be notified to the webmaster at plymouthdata dot info